• Notos Quartett

Notos Quartett

Sunday 24. 9. o 16:00 h
Slovak Philharmonic Small Hall


Notos Quartett
Sindri Lederer
– violin
Andrea Burger
– viola
Philip Graham
– cello
Antonia Köster
– piano


Ernst von Dohnányi – Piano Quartet in F sharp minor
Béla Bartók – Piano Quartet in C minor, Op. 20
Zoltán Kodály – Intermezzo for string trio. Allegretto
Alexander Albrecht
– Andante amoroso
– Six Little Pieces for String Trio


After their secondary school-leaving exams either in Bratislava or Trnava four youngsters – Ernő Dohnányi, Béla Bartók, Zoltán Kodály and Alexander Albrecht – left for the Budapest Music Academy to study composition with Hans Kössler, a German devotee of Brahms’ ideals. Their juvenile music confirms a high level of chamber music making and composing at this prestigious school. Dohnányi and Bartók wrote their advanced chamber works as 17-year-olds, Kodály composed his Intermezzo after finishing his studies with Kössler, and Albrecht’s trios, written for the trio KAF (Kupkovič – Albrecht – Filip), originated during the last years of the author’s life. While the early compositions reveal the first steps on the way to their own artistic utterances, the mature works summarize the accomplishments of the completed life path. Original compositions by the peers from the turn of the 20th century, whose destinies crossed in our territory, will be performed by Notos Quartett, which was awarded the distinguished ECHO Klassik prize in 2017 and is considered one of the best chamber ensembles of the present day.

Notos Quartett

Notos Quartett

Kategória: Program 2023