Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday 29th September 2017, 7:00 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra


Wiener Philharmoniker
Zubin Mehta – conductor
Rainer Honeck – violin
Robert Nagy – cello
Martin Gabriel – oboe
Sophie Dartigalongue – basson


Johannes Brahms – Tragic Overture, Op. 81
Joseph Haydn – Sinfonia concertante in B flat major, Hob. I:105
Béla Bartók – Concerto for Orchestra

ADMISSION:  45, 38, 30 €   TICKETS

Out of Brahms’ two symphonic overtures from 1880 the Tragic one represents a more personal expression than the occasional Academic one. In his Sinfonia concertante Haydn played with a unique quartet of solo instruments “opposing” the orchestra.
Concerto for Orchestra belongs to the last works of Bartók’s creative period. He composed it in 1943 in American exile on the commission of Serge Koussevitzky, who premiered it one year later with the Boston Symphony Orchestra.
This year one of the most prestigious world orchestras – Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra – commemorates the 175th anniversary of its origination. Its musical qualities are unrivaled according to critics. It will give a guest performance at the BMF under the leadership of the most distinguished conductor Zubin Mehta. He grew up surrounded by music and although his father wanted him to become a doctor, Zubin Mehta stayed with music and his “colourful energetic performance” has been healing souls for decades.

Wiener Philharmoniker

Rainer Honeck, husle

Robert Nagy, violončelo

Martin Gabriel, hoboj

Sophie Dartigalongue, fagot


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open