Slovak Wind Music Concert

Saturday 25th September 2021, 4:00 PM
Small Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic

Slovak Wind Music Concert


Ladislav Fančovič – saxophone
Jozef Eliáš
 – clarinet
Albert Hrubovčák
 – trombone
Tomáš Nemec
 – piano
Albrecht Trio
Matúš Veľas
 – oboe / Jozef Eliáš – clarinet / Peter Kajan – bassoon


Jevgenij Iršai – Monologue for Baritone Saxophone
Peter Zagar – Intermezzo for Clarinet and Piano premiere
Jozef Podprocký – Divertimento for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon, Op. 45
Milan Novák – Music for Trombone and Piano
Jevgenij Iršai – Silhouettes for Clarinet and Baritone Saxophone
Juraj Hatrík – Due movimenti per tre


* According to Public Health Authority Decree No. 241/2021: OTP – people who are fully vaccinated or tested (72 hours PCR test or 48 hour antigen test) or have recovered from Covid-19 in the past 180 days

Chamber music for winds enjoys a long and extremely rich tradition in the Slovak music. Besides solo pieces the composers of our music modernism (Moyzes, Suchoň, Cikker, Kardoš, Jurovský, Holoubek) dedicated themselves with great enthusiasm to the genre of a wind quintet. The opportunity to show off their performing mastery has been offered to the leaders of the wind section of the Slovak Philharmonic. The fabulous pianist Ladislav Fančovič will present himself in a new role of a concert saxophonist in two pieces by Evgeny Irshai, the origination of which he has motivated.

Ladislav Fančovič by Julian VevericaAlbrecht TrioAlbert Hrubovčák foto Alexander TrizuljakTomáš Nemec