Slovak Philharmonic

Wednesday 4th October 2017, 7:00 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Slovak Philharmonic


Slovak Philharmonic
Lawrence Foster – conductor
Evgeny Kissin – piano


Franz Liszt – Orpheus, symphonic poem
Béla Bartók – Piano Concerto No. 2
Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 4 in E minor Op. 98

ADMISSION:  36, 30, 24 €     TICKETS

Orfeus is the fourth out of 13 symphonic poems by Franz Liszt written by this famous late Romantic composer during his years-long Weimar stay.
Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 2 from 1931 belongs to the most demanding works of piano literature. It will sound rendered by our notable guest Evgeny Kissin, who was not only a child prodigy, but truly a little genius. He is an accomplished virtuoso, fascinating player, versatile artist with a sharp intellect and admirable spirit, as the reviewers write. Being only 17-year-old he captivated Herbert von Karajan; in Carnegie Hall he debuted under Zubin Mehta; in 1997 he was the first pianist to give a solo recital at London Proms, he performed for the six-thousand-strong audience and rewarded their favour with seven encores.
In the second part of the concert the Slovak Philharmonic will perform Brahms’ Symphony No. 4 in E minor, which represents the acme of the symphonic work of the famous composer. It is a chant about the way to the present and future man, which leads through a deep inclination to tradition, and about the belief in love and good which is the top humanist value.

Slovenská filharmónia

Lawrence Foster, dirigent


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open