Slovak Philharmonic

Tuesday 5th October 2021, 7:30 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Slovak Philharmonic


Slovak Philharmonic
Christian Vásquez – conductor
Ivan Ženatý – violin


Aaron Copland – El salón México
Édouard Lalo – Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21
Silvestre Revueltas – La noche de los Mayas

ADMISSION 30, 26 €      TICKETS     KZ*

* According to Public Health Authority Decree No. 241/2021: KZ – fully vaccinated

The Slovak Philharmonic has prepared an Ibero-American programme opened by the fierce, rhythmically rich symphonic image El Salón México, one of the most popular works of the American composer Aaron Copland. He wrote it in the 1930s influenced by his visit to the legendary dance hall in the Mexican metropolis. The French Édouard Lalo has composed his popular Spanish Symphony, which belongs to the basic archive of Romantic violin concertos, for the violin virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate in 1874. We will listen to it in an attractive rendering of the Czech perennial star, the violinist Ivan Ženatý, playing the precious violin Giuseppe Guarneri ‘del Gesu’ from 1740. The night will be closed by the suite The Night of the Mayas by the Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas. It was written in 1939 originally as a film score to the eponymous movie. The work later aroused the interest of Paul Hindemith, who arranged it as a concert work after the composer’s death. A large group of percussion instruments is used in the work in an unusual way.
The Slovak Philharmonic will prepare the concert under the baton of Christian Vásquez, one of the most important Venezuelan conductors of today.

Christian Vásquez foto Dahory-GonzálezIvan Ženatýbrenkus-cop-3775


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open