Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London

Sunday 29th September 2019, 7:30 PM
Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London
Rafael Payare – conductor


Zoltán Kodály – Dances from Galanta
Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36
Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

ADMISSION: 40, 36, 32 €   TICKETS

Zoltán Kodály, a native from Galanta, wrote his explosive orchestral dances in 1933 as
a commission from the Pest Philharmonic Society on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of
its establishment. The piece is in two movements, and has the character of verbunk dance
preceded by a slow introduction, with a solo clarinet excelling. Beethoven’s Symphony
No. 2 in D major (1803) comes from the period of the composer’s creation when he began
to reconcile with the idea that his hearing was damaged for ever.
Johannes Brahms wrote his 1st Symphony as a mature composer in 1876. He initially hesitated
for a long time before deciding to follow Beethoven, whose symphonic work was the
paragon of the utmost perfection for him. The work named ‘Beethoven’s 10th symphony’ by
Hans von Bülow was accepted with exultation immediately at its premiere in Leipzig where
it was conducted by the author himself.
One of the most prestigious orchestras in the world, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
London, will come to the BMF again. Thanks to his brilliance the Venezuelan conductor
Rafael Payare belongs to the most sought-after conductors of his generation (1980), having
established himself on both European and American stages.