Musica aeterna

Thursday 3rd October 2019, 7:30 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Column Hall

Musica aeterna


Musica aeterna
Peter Zajíček –
artistic leader
Martina Masaryková – soprano
Michaela Kušteková – soprano


Giovanni Battista Pergolesi – Sinfonia G dur
Nicola Porpora
 – Six Symphonies en Trio Op. 2, No. 2 in C major
Johann Adolf Hasse
 – Six Symphonies a quatre parties Op. 5, No. 6
in G minor
Niccolò Jommelli – 
Miserere David’s Psalm No. 51


In the past Naples was the most important music centre of Italy. In the 17th and 18th centuries the local composers – members of the so-called Neapolitan school – cultivated a specific compositional style. The glamour of Neapolitan music was increased also by the influence of the domestic folk tradition, adding an unusual tone, even a tinge of exotic, to artificial music. PergolesiPorpora and Hasse were among its most significant representatives, their opera music either directly or indirectly dominating the European stages. Jommelli’s last work for Naples was his Miserere on the 51st psalm. This work is filled with sincere plea and desire for reconciliation and forgiveness. Tonight’s concert is dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the birth of Ján Albrecht, who is credited with the establishment of the Musica aeterna ensemble in 1973.



  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open