Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Saturday 29th September 2018, 7:30 PM
Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg


Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
John Storgårds – conductor
Baiba Skride – violin


Leonard Bernstein – Serenade after Plato’s Symposium for solo violin, strings, harp and percussion
Dmitry Shostakovich – Symphony No. 11 in G minor, Op. 103 The Year 1905

ADMISSION:  28, 24, 20 €     TICKETS

In his brilliant Serenade the pianist, conductor and composer Leonard Bernstein let himself be inspired by Plato’s treatise about love Symposium. The piece in 5 movements represents the portraits of antique philosophers. Impressive symphonies of Dmitry Shostakovich often served as a refuge for the composer from the atrocity of Stalinist regime. The subtitle of the 11th Symphony – The Year 1905 expresses the author’s solidarity with the protesting workers who became the victims of a massacre in front of the tsar’s palace which entered history as “Bloody Sunday of St. Petersburg”.
In Bernstein’s work the renowned Finnish conductor John Storgårds will be joined onstage by Baiba Skride, “a magnificent player, with a bold style that puts strong expression foremost, yet without any compromise in tonal quality or accuracy” (Gramophone Magazine)


Baiba Skride Photo: Marco Borggreve all rights reserved