Piano Recital – Marian Lapšanský

Sunday 30th September 2018, 7:30 PM
Small Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic

Piano Recital – Marian Lapšanský


Marian Lapšanský


Johannes Brahms  – Intermezzo in B flat minor, Op. 117 No. 2,  Intermezzo in E flat minor, Op. 118 No. 6
Zdeněk Fibich – Moods, Impressions and Reminiscences, Op. 41
Leoš Janáček  – Piano Sonata 1.X.1905 in E flat minor, JW VIII/19 From the Street
Eugen Suchoň – Little Suite with Passacaglia for piano; Op. 3. ESD 48a
Isaac Albéniz – Suite Española, Op. 47 (Selection) / Iberia (Selection)


Introspective miniatures of Johannes Brahms and Zdeněk Fibich will open the recital of the distinguished Slovak pianist. The emotional sonata by Leoš Janáček was inspired by a tragedy of a young man beaten to death during the demonstration demanding the foundation of Czech University in Brno. Eugen Suchoň’s Little Suite with Passacaglia forms today a stable part of piano repertory. The selection from the cycles Spanish Suite and Iberia by Isaac Albéniz brings a refreshment in the form of exotic inspirations from behind the Pyrenees.
Marian Lapšanský belongs to the top pianists as well as to the peak of the whole performing art in Slovakia. He has reached the balance between the deep emotionality – from fragile poetic meditation through a wide range of shades to concise, dramatic, always refined metal peaks – and thoroughly considered channeling of expressive lines.” (Vladimír Čížik)