Dresden Philharmonic

Saturday 30th September 2023, 7:30 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Dresden Philharmonic


Dresden Philharmonic
Krzysztof Urbański
– conductor
Julia Hagen – cello


Wojciech Kilar – Orawa for String Orchestra
Camille Saint-Saëns – Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 33
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36

Admission  45, 39, 29 €      Tickets

Last time the Dresden Philharmonic performed at the BMF in 2016. Tonight it will be led by the energetic young Polish conductor Krzysztof Urbański, who – together with the soloist of the evening Julia Hagen – will be welcomed here for the first time. From the Polish music the conductor has chosen a piece by Wojciech Kilar for his BMF concert, inspired by folklore and rich in spontaneity, temperament and energy. A native of Salzburg, the young cellist Julia Hagen belongs to the most distinctive performing figures of her generation. She has gained her technical skilfulness in the class of legendary Heinrich Schiff and will exhibit it in a popular cello concerto by Camille Saint-Saëns. Tchaikovsky dedicated his Fourth Symphony to his patron Nadezhda von Meck. He added a programme to the symphony at her request and in a letter to Taneyev he disclosed that the work is simultaneously a reflection of Beethoven’s “Fate Symphony”. Following his Classicist model he had been working with a signal fanfare motif through the whole piece.

Krzysztof Urbański

Krysztof Urbanski, photo Marco Borggreve

Julia Hagen foto Simon Paulyi

Julia Hagen, photo Simon Paulyi

Dresdner Philharmonie

Dresdner Philharmonie, Marken fotografie


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open