David Oistrakh String Quartet

Monday 7th October 2019, 7:30 PM
Small Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic

David Oistrakh String Quartet


David Oistrakh String Quartet:
Andrey Baranov
– violin I
Rodion Petrov – violin II
Fedor Belugin – viola
Alexey Zhilin – cello


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy – String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80
Dmitri Shostakovich – String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – String Quartet No. 1 in D major, Op. 11
Niccolò Paganini – Capriccio in A minor, Op. 1 No. 24 (arrangement for string quartet Fedor Belugin)


The string quartet from Moscow, named after one of the most significant representatives
of violin playing, consists of four excellent instrumentalists. Its first violinist is Andrey Baranov, known to us already from his solo appearances at BMF as well as within the concert seasons of the Slovak Philharmonic. Andrey Baranov is a winner of one of the most prestigious world competitions – the Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition in Brussels (2012).
He also won the Benjamin Britten and Henri Marteau international competitions, and over
two dozens of other competitions, including the ones in Indianapolis, Seoul, and even the
Paganini Competition in Moscow. The principal work in the brilliant programme will be the
expressive String Quartet No. 8 by Dmitri Shostakovich.

Oistrakh Quartet / Andrey BaranovOistrakh Quartet / Andrey BaranovOistrakh Quartet / Andrey Baranov15-david_oistrakh_string_quartet-6-alexey-zhilin-2