Collegium 1704

Monday 1st October 2018, 7:30 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Collegium 1704


Collegium 1704
Prague Baroque Orchestra
Václav Luks – conductor
Magdalena Kožená – mezzosoprano


Il Giardino dei Sospiri
Italian Baroque Cantatas Evening

Georg Friedrich Händel
– Agrippina, sinfonia HWV 6
– Armida abbandonata, Cantata HWV 105
Leonardo Vinci – Maria dolorata, sinfonia
Francesco Gasparini – Atalia, Aria Ombre, cure, sospetti
Benedetto Marcello – Arianna abbandonata, Cantata
Leonardo Leo – Angelica e Medoro, Cantata
Domenico Sarri
– Didone abbandonata (1724/30)
– Introduzzione (1724)
Georg Friedrich Händel – Ero e Leandro, Cantata


ADMISSION:  28, 24, 20 €     TICKETS

Dramatic destinies of heroines have inspired the artists from the antiquity and stories crammed with passion, love, grief, but also resistance, delight and determination have become the subject of artistic materialization in literature, arts, and music. Magdalena Kožená is our guide in The Garden of Sighs, the programme consisting of dramatic scenes of famous heroines like Armida and Ariadne, as well as less known stories of devoted love like the story of Hero. Music of Georg Friedrich Händel’s Italian cantatas is supplemented with works of his Venetian and Neapolitan contemporaries. Thus the flame of Italian music is interwoven with the passion of eternal stories.



  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open