Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra

Sunday 27th November 2016, 7:00 PM
Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic

Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra


Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra
Mario Košik – conductor
Daniel Müller-Schott – cello

2016 The Year of Slovak Music


Ernő von Dohnányi – American Rhapsody, Op. 47
Sergei Prokofiev – Symphony-Concerto for cello and orchestra in E minor, Op. 125
Alexander Moyzes – Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, Op. 38

Admission:  16, 12, 8 €     Tickets

In the Year of Slovak Music we commemorate the 110th anniversary of the birth of the founder of Slovak symphonic music – Alexander Moyzes. Moyzes’s typical symphonic music is characterized by masterful thematic work, expression dominated by the epic broadness with the evolution of a grand gradation, as well as existentially deep and painful meditation.
From his 12 symphonies the Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, Op. 38, (1947, rev. 1957) will sound on the festival stage.
Ernő von Dohnányi’s American Rhapsody, Op. 47, (1954) was written during the composer’s final years at the Florida State University. The rhapsodically free structure of the piece boasts rich sound, folk and gospel allusions, and direct quotations of the then popular melodies (On Top of Old Smokey).

Daniel Müller-Schott, violončeloSymfonický orchester Slovenského rozhlasu


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open