Prague Symphony Orchestra

Saturday 26th November 2016, 7:00 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Prague Symphony Orchestra


Prague Symphony Orchestra
Ondrej Lenárd – conductor
Vadym Kholodenko – piano


Richard Strauss – Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks, symphonic poem, Op. 28
Sergei Prokofiev – Piano Concerto in G major, Op. 55
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 6 in B minor Pathétique, Op. 74

Admission:  25, 20, 16 €     Tickets

The issue of programme music was reflected also by Tchaikovsky, who developed the idea of programmatic poetic content following in Beethoven’s footsteps. This is proven by his Symphony No. 6 in B minor subtitled “Pathétique”. Piano was the first means mediating music for Prokofiev, and it became not only a virtuoso instrument for him, but also an experimental music laboratory. Piano Concerto No. 5 in G major Op. 55 merges an attacking drama with delicate and typically Russian lyrical tones. After the composer’s death the piece was literally revived for the concert stages by the phenomenal pianist Sviatoslav Richter.
Rendered by Vadym Kholodenko, the winner of numerous international competitions including Competition Van Cliburn in the U.S.A., it will sound at the BMF under the baton of the doyen of Slovak conductors Ondrej Lenárd. Kholodenko’s “fascinating and exciting” performance has been compared to a rock star concert by some reviewers.

Vadym Kholodenko credit Van CliburnSymfonický orchester hlavného mesta Prahy FOK foto Jan Kolman


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open