Royal Concertgebouworchestra Amsterdam

Saturday 19th November 2016, 6:00 PM
Slovak Philharmonic Concert Hall

Royal Concertgebouworchestra Amsterdam


Royal Concertgebouworchestra Amsterdam
Semyon Bychkov – conductor
Emanuel Ax  – piano


Carl Maria von Weber – Oberon, opera overture, L. 306, within the Side by Side project
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Piano Concerto No. 22 in E flat major, K. 482
Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor

Admission:   35, 30, 25 €     Tickets

In the course of three seasons the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra aims to tour all 28 member states of the European Union. It comes to Slovakia at the moment when Slovakia has taken up the presidency of the EU from the Netherlands. Following the idea of “music without borders”, the programme of the evening includes the Side by Side project – Weber’s overture will be performed by the members of the prestigious visiting ensemble as well as young Slovak musicians. The project will be led by one of the world’s most sought-after conductors Semyon Bychkov, who will appear in Slovakia for the first time. The Mahler tradition has quite deep roots in the famous Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, which was granted the title “royal” by the Queen Beatrix in 1988: G. Mahler presented his two symphonies there in 1903 and 1904, as well as other works. Peculiarly the orchestra has included also his emotionally strained and Symphony No. 5, rich in timbre, into its Europe touring programme. The concertante piece of this evening rendered by Emanuel Ax will be Mozart’s great Piano Concerto No. 22 in E flat major, K. 482 composed before Christmastime in 1785, which proves the abundant musical inventiveness and imagination present in the creative power of the composer.

Royal Concertgebouworchestra Amsterdam


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open