Slovak State Philharmonic Košice

Tuesday 23rd September 2014, 7:30 PM
Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic


Slovak State Philharmonic Košice
Leoš Svárovský – conductor
Raphael Wallfisch – cello


Dezider Kardoš – Symphony No. 5 Op. 37
Sergey Prokofiev – Lieutenant Kijé, symphonic suite Op. 60
Antonín Dvořák – Cello Concerto in B minor Op. 104

Dezider Kardoš excelled especially as a symphonic writer. Contrary to balladic Eugen Suchoň and dramatic Ján Cikker his symphonic works usually make an impression of extensive studies of possibilities offered by an orchestral body. They remind us often of the writing of Sergey Prokofiev, who, similarly to him, counted on a genuine musical inspiration, even in the works determined by a story, action, or subject – as is the case of the suite from the film score to Lieutenant Kijé. Antonín Dvořák’s Cello Concerto is one of the most famous concertante works. It originated in the time of the composer’s sojourn in New York. The Slovak State Philharmonic Košice will be led by Leoš Svárovský, featuring one of the most saught-after cellists of today Raphael Wallfisch.


  • Žiadne udalosti
  • open